Home Boys' Lists Girls' Lists Men's Teams Women's Teams News Photos Contributors Links Help Sign-UpOnline Store
Team Directory | Conference Maps | News Wire | Class Rankings | Advanced Search  

Team Information

University of Southern California Men | Women

Division:NCAA - Div. I
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Head Coach:Peter Smith
Institution Type:Private
Environment:Very large city
Student Population:16,000+
Top Recruiting Classes: #7 in 2013, #8 in 2011, #6 in 2010, #13 in 2009, #2 in 2008, #6 in 2006

Conference Highlights
Second place in Pac-10 (6-1).
Posted 19-2 record in Pac-10 dual match doubles play.
Peter Smith named Pac-10 Coach of the Year.
Four players earn All-Pac-10 honors.
Robert Farah/Kaes Van't Hof reach Pac-10 Tournament Doubles final.
Jason McNaughton wins Pac-10 Invitational Singles championship.
Post Season Highlights
Made its 29th appearance in the NCAA Team Championships.
Seeded #12, upset #5 Notre Dame in NCAA Round of 16.
Reached NCAA Quarterfinals.
Finished season with 23-3 overall record, ranked #9 in nation.
Had three players selected to compete in NCAA Singles Championships.
Tournament Highlights
Jamil Al-Agba: ITA West Regional Semifinalist

Dejan Cvetkovic: Sherwood Collegiate Finalist

Jason McNaughton: Fresno Bulldog Classic Finalist; Sherwood Collegiate Consolation Champion; Pac-10 Invitational Champion.

Gary Sacks: ITA West Regional Consolation Finalist.

Garrett Snyder: Pac-10 Invitational Semifinalist.

Kaes Van't Hof: Fresno Bulldog Classic Champion; Sherwood Collegiate Semifinalist.
Individual Achievements
Kaes Van't Hof (30-8 singles): West Region ITA/Arthur Ashe Award for Leadership and Sportsmanship; All-Pac-10 Second Team; 11-match singles win streak; 21-1 record from 1/20-4/26.

Jamil Al-Agba (20-11 singles): All-Pac-10 First Team.

Dejan Cvetkovic (18-15 singles): All-Pac-10 Second Team.

Robert Farah (22-7 singles): All-Pac-10 Honorable Mention.
Coaching Achievements
Peter Smith: Pac-10 Coach of the Year; West Region Coach of the Year.

Brett Masi: West Region ITA Assistant Coach of the Year.
9/01 Ally McKenzie chooses St. Louis
8/31 Alex Ross chooses Vanderbilt
8/29 Gunther Matta chooses California
8/27 Kiersten Cox chooses Belmont Abbey
8/27 Risa Nakagawa chooses Georgetown
8/26 Victor Pham chooses Columbia
8/25 Alex Wittenbaum chooses Marian (IN)
8/24 Yuki Asami chooses Pacific
8/23 Sera Martorelli chooses Army
8/23 Genevieve McCormick chooses Army

Full Listings: Boys' Commits & Girls' Commits

Campus Showdowns are one-day, short-format tournaments open to juniors, college players, professionals, and adults. These events give junior players a chance to compete against college competition on a college campus.
9/06 Coed Showdown
Denver, CO
MSU Denver
D. Hangstefer
9/06 Coed Showdown
Delaware, OH
Ohio Wesleyan
Tom Drabczyk
9/06 Coed Showdown
Campbellsville, KY
Kyle Caven
9/13 Coed Showdown
Wichita, KS
Wichita State
Colin Foster
9/20 Women's Showdown
Claremont, CA
David Schwarz
Click here for a complete Showdown Schedule

Page updated on Tuesday, September 02, 2014 at 3:35:37 AM
Contact our web team with any corrections