Home Boys' Lists Girls' Lists Men's Teams Women's Teams News Photos Contributors Links Help Sign-UpOnline Store
Team Directory | Conference Maps | News Wire | Class Rankings | Advanced Search  

Team Information

Bates College Men | Women

Division:NCAA - Div. III
Location:Lewiston, ME
Head Coach:Paul Gastonguay
Assistant Coach:Sam Woods
Institution Type:Private
Environment:Large town
Student Population:Less than 2,500
Top Div. III Classes: #15 in 2014, #10 in 2013, R.V. in 2011, #21 in 2010

Conference Highlights


2007 CBB Champs defeating 10th-ranked Bowdoin 5-4 and Colby 7-2

2000 NESCAC Championships - 2nd place

Paul Gastonguay '89 leads Bobcats to 1988 NESCAC Championship
Post Season Highlights

Bates reaches "Sweet 16" of NCAA Championships with its 4-1 victory over MIT

3rd place - NCAA Championships (1981)

2000-2006 - 7 consecutive NCAA Tournament selections; perennial top-25 ranked team, and as high as 14th nationally
Tournament Highlights
2007 ITA Championships
-Ben Stein '09 and Amrit Rupasinghe '10 - Doubles Finalists (Northeast Region)
-Stein - Singles Semifinalist

2007 Middlebury Invitational
-Danilo Acosta '08 Singles Champion (C Flight)
-Acosta and Zach Fenno '10 Doubles Finalists (B Flight)
-Stein - Singles Finalist (A Flight)

2010 ITA Championships
-Matt Bettles singles finalist
-Timmy Berg quarterfinalist
Individual Achievements
Bud Schultz '81 - All-American; attained Top-40 world ranking

Paul Gastonguay '89 - All-American; Clarence Chaffee Award Winner (for outstanding play and sportsmanship); World-ranked in singles and doubles

Will Boe-Wiegaard '06 - 2006 NCAA Singles Champion; 5-time All-American; 2005 NCAA Singles Finalist; 2-time NESCAC Champion; 2006 NESCAC Rookie of the Year

Tristan Beach '06 - All-American; NCAA Quarterfinalist with Boe-Wiegaard

Ben Stein '08 - Named All-NESCAC Singles

Amrit Rupasinghe '10 - 2007 Sri Lankan Men's National Champion; Davis Cup Member

Matt Bettles'13- 2010 ITA singles finalist
Coaching Achievements
Paul Gastonguay named 2001 NESCAC Men's Tennis Coach of the Year

Paul Gastonguay named 2002 ITA East Region Men's Coach of the Year

Paul Gastonguay named 2005 NESCAC Men's Tennis Coach of the Year
10/23 John Page chooses Youngstown State
10/22 Madison Hale chooses UCSD
10/22 Mckenzie Barco chooses Chattanooga
10/22 Michelle Wang chooses Cornell
10/21 Sean Halloran chooses Sewanee
10/21 Devin Knors chooses Appalachian State
10/21 Mac McCullough chooses Sewanee
10/21 Samuel Beren chooses Harvard
10/21 Tony Leto chooses Iowa
10/21 Daniel Gealer chooses UCLA

Full Listings: Boys' Commits & Girls' Commits

Campus Showdowns are one-day, short-format tournaments open to juniors, college players, professionals, and adults. These events give junior players a chance to compete against college competition on a college campus.
10/25 Women's Showdown
Fairfax, VA
George Mason
Stephen Curtis
10/25 Men's Showdown
Allentown, PA
Jeff Schmitt
10/25 Coed Showdown
Claremont, CA
Steve Bickham
10/26 Women's Showdown
Sweet Briar, VA
Sweet Briar
Teresa Boylan
11/01 Men's Showdown
Santa Clara, CA
Santa Clara
Aaron Paajanen
Click here for a complete Showdown Schedule

Page updated on Thursday, October 23, 2014 at 3:01:31 AM
Contact our web team with any corrections