Home Boys' Lists Girls' Lists Men's Teams Women's Teams News Photos Contributors Links Help Sign-UpOnline Store
Latest News | Categories | Authors | News Archives

News & Features

College Feature
Case Western Defends DIII Men's National Indoor Title

After having never won a national title before, Case Western Reserve University didn’t wait long to return to the top.

The second-seeded Spartans secured their second straight ITA Division III Men’s Team Indoor National Championship trophy with a 5-1 win over No. 4 Washington University in Saint Louis at the Swanson Tennis Center in St. Peter, Minnesota last Sunday.

CWRU is the third program in the tournament’s history to repeat as champions, joining Emory and Gustavus Adolphus. Wash U was making its first appearance in the final since 2014.

James Hopper and Vishwa Aduru, the top-seeded pairing in Division III, gave Case Western a 1-0 lead with an 8-4 win over fifth-ranked Abhi Ramireddy and Phuc Huynh at the No. 1 doubles spot, avenging a loss from the fall. Wash U evened the score at 1-1 with a victory at second doubles, with Gaurav Singh and Scott Yamamoto defeating Chris Provenzano and Sahil Dayal 8-5.

Diego Maza and Michael Sutanto gave Case Western the lead for good by defeating Colin Scruggs and Patricio Garcia Muriel Pasquel 8-6 at No. 3 doubles.

Hopper added to the Spartans' lead with a 6-3, 6-3 win over Ramireddy at No. 1 singles, and Ansh Shah’s 6-1, 6-3 win over Pasquel at No. 4 singles put Case Western on the brink of another title. Casey Hishinuma provided the clinching point with a 7-5, 6-3 victory over Scruggs at No. 6 singles to secure the second straight championship for the Spartans.

Case Western beat No. 7 Emory 5-1 in the quarterfinals and No. 3 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 6-3 in the semifinals. Wash U beat No. 5 North Carolina Wesleyan 5-4 in the quarterfinals and No. 1 Chicago 6-3 in the semifinals.

All-Tournament Team

Most Outstanding Player: James Hopper, Case Western Reserve


No. 1: Hopper

No. 2: Vishwa Aduru, Case Western Reserve

No. 3: Jared Phillips, Wash U

No. 4: Ansh Shah, Case Western Reserve

No. 5: James Shaheen, Wash U

No. 6: Warren Pham, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps


No. 1: Hopper/Aduru

No. 2: Ian Freer/Matthew Robinson, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

No. 3: Nathan Armilli/Christopher Li, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

Team Sportsmanship Award: Gustavus-Adolphus College

Sunday’s Final

Case Western 5, Washington University 1


1. James Hooper (CWR-M) def. Abhi Ramireddy (WASHUM) 6-3, 6-3

2. Vishwa Aduru (CWR-M) vs. Phuc Huynh (WASHUM) 6-3, 4-3, unfinished

3. Michael Sutanto (CWR-M) vs. Jared Phillips (WASHUM) 1-6, 5-6, unfinished

4. Ansh Shah (CWR-M) def. Gaurav Singh (WASHUM) 6-1, 6-3

5. Ajay Mahenthiran (CWR-M) vs. Pato Garcia Muriel (WASHUM) 6-2, 5-4, unfinished

6. Casey Hishinuma (CWR-M) def. James Shaheen (WASHUM) 7-5, 6-3

Order of finish: 1,4,6


1. Aduru/Hopper (CWR-M) def. Abhi Ramireddy/Phuc Huynh (WASHUM) 8-4

2. Gaurav Singh/Scott Yamamoto (WASHUM) def. Chris Provenzano/Sahil Dayal (CWR-M) 8-5

3. Diego Maza/Sutanto (CWR-M) def. Colin Scruggs/Pato Garcia Muriel (WASHUM) 8-6

Order of finish: 1,2,3

This Article Is Available Only to Recruiting Advantage members
Please log in to access premium TennisRecruiting.net content.
Register Now For Free!
  • Content Updated Daily
  • Complete Rank Lists
  • Exclusive Articles
  • Recruit Interviews
It's Quick, Easy, and Free!


Page updated on Monday, March 13, 2023
Contact our web team with any corrections