Home Boys' Lists Girls' Lists Men's Teams Women's Teams News Photos Contributors Links Help Sign-UpOnline Store
Latest News | Categories | Authors | News Archives

News & Features

College Feature
UChicago Repeats as Division III Women's Indoor Champions

The University of Chicago women probably didn’t realize a quirky streak was even on the line when they began play at the ITA Division III Women’s National Indoor Team Championships.

The defending champion Maroons just wanted to win another title for their own sake.

But with a 5-1 win over top-seeded Claremont-Mudd-Scripps in the final on Sunday at the Top Seed Tennis Club in Nicholasville, Kentucky, No. 2 UChicago culminated a championship stretch of repeats.

All four ITA Indoor team champions in NCAA Division I and III defended their titles this season, with the TCU men and North Carolina women (four straight) claiming the Division I crowns for the second consecutive year and the Case Western men and UChicago women doing the same in Division III.

Like the Case Western men, the two straight Indoor titles for the UChicago women are the first two in program history. UChicago joins Emory and Johns Hopkins as the only programs to win the event in consecutive years.

"Our play all weekend was all about the team's resilience and resolve," said UChicago head coach Jay Tee. "They had every opportunity to make the excuse that finals start on Monday or that they were tired or stressed or any number of other things, but that's not what this team is about and that's why their success isn't a fluke. From the first day, they were determined to outwork the other team and to keep fighting no matter the circumstance, and they did just that.”

UChicago took the lead for good at 2-0 with victories at the top two doubles spots. Sylwia Mikos and Shianna Guo defeated Alisha Chulani and Nikolina Batoshvili 8-6 at the No. 1 spot and Claudia Ng and Parene Wang beat Olivia Almy and Audrey Yooon 8-5 at No. 2. CMS captured its only point with a tiebreaker win at No. 3 doubles by Katherin Wurster and Sena Selby.

After the team split first sets evenly 3-3 across the six singles courts, UChicago raced to the victory behind straight-set wins by Nicole Geller, Brooke Pederen and Ng.

Geller gave the Maroons a 3-1 lead with a 6-3, 6-1 victory over Wurster at No. 3 singles. Ng defeated Batoshvili 6-4, 6-2 at No. 6 and Pederson clinched the match with a 7-5, 6-4 win over Ellia Brissett 7-5, 6-4 at No. 4.

“In the finals, we did a good job of not making this about revenge, a championship or a goal. Rather, we just wanted to stick together and play the ball, not the opponent or moment, which we did,” Tee said. “I couldn't be happier for the team or more proud to share the courts with them this weekend."

Chicago (8-0) beat No. 7 Carnegie Mellon 7-1 in the quarterfinals and No. 3 Pomona-Pitzer 8-1 in the semifinals. CMS (4-1) beat No. 8 Case Western 6-3 in the quarterfinals and No. 4 MIT 7-2 in the semifinals.

MIT won the third-place match over Pomona-Pitzer 5-4. No. 5 Emory defeated No. 6 Sewanee 5-0 in the fifth-place match, and Carnegie Mellon beat Case Western 5-4 in the seventh-place match.

All-Tournament Team

Most Outstanding Player: Sylwia Mikos, UChicago


No. 1 - Mikos

No. 2 - Shianna Guo, UChicago

No. 3 - Caroline Vincent, MIT

No. 4 - Jay Lu, MIT

No. 5 - Miranda Yuan, UChicago

No. 6 - Claudia Ng, UChicago


No. 1 - Mikos/Guo, UChicago

No. 2 - Sarah Pertsemlidis/Lu, MIT

No. 3 - Katherine Wurster/Sena Selby, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

Team Sportsmanship Award - MIT

Championship Match:

UChicago 5, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps 1


1. Sylwia Mikos (UC) vs. Alisha Chulani (CMS) 4-6, 6-1, 1-2, unfinished

2. Shianna Guo (UC) vs. Audrey Yoon (CMS) 0-6, 4-5, unfinished

3. Nicole Geller (UC) def. Katherine Wurster (CMS) 6-3, 6-1

4. Brooke Pedersen (UC) def. Ella Brissett (CMS) 7-5, 6-4

5. Miranda Yuan (UC) vs. Sena Selby (CMS) 2-6, 5-4, unfinished

6. Claudia Ng (UC) def. Nikolina Batoshvili (CMS) 6-4, 6-2

Order of finish: 3,6,4


1. Sylwia Mikos/Shianna Guo (UC) def. Alisha Chulani/Nikolina Batoshvili (CMS) 8-6

2. Claudia Ng/Perene Wang (UC) def. Olivia Almy/Audrey Yoon (CMS) 8-5

3. Katherine Wurster/Sena Selby (CMS) def. Nicole Geller/Lauren Khou (UC) 8-7 (7-3)

Order of finish: 1,2,3


Leave a Comment


More College Coverage

USF, Sense Arena Partner with Cognitive Virtual Reality Training
The University of South Florida men’s and women’s teams are the first NCAA tennis programs to partner with Sense Arena, a sports virtual reality company headquartered in Prague, Czech Republic. Yannick Yoshizawa, Sense Arena’s Vice President of Tennis, played at USF.

Case Western Defends DIII Men's National Indoor Title
Case Western Reserve University claimed its second straight ITA Division III Men’s Team Indoor National Championship title with a 5-1 win over No. 4 Washington University in Saint Louis at the Swanson Tennis Center in St. Peter, Minnesota last Sunday.

TCU Secures Second Straight ITA National Indoor Title
TCU secured its second straight ITA Men's National Team Indoor title on Monday with a 4-0 win over in-state and conference rival Texas in Chicago. The Horned Frogs are the first repeat winners since Virginia in 2010-11.

 College Coverage Index |   Subscribe


About Rhiannon Potkey

Rhiannon Potkey is a veteran sportswriter with more than two decades of experience in journalism. Potkey has covered many sports at many levels and has a passion for finding great stories. Potkey has covered the U.S. Open, junior sectional and national events, college conference championships and Davis Cup matches. Potkey is currently Content Strategist for Tennis Recruiting. You can reach Rhiannon by email at [email protected].
3/31 Tatiana Mouzykantskii chooses MIT
3/31 Watson Sheard chooses Bethel (MN)
3/30 Lexington Reed chooses Texas A&M
3/30 Jeremy Jin chooses Florida
3/30 Aidan Kim chooses Florida
3/30 Anna Neyestani chooses College of Charleston
3/30 Leilany Sanchez chooses Belmont Abbey
3/29 Blake Queiroz chooses Merrimack
3/29 Arnesh Singh chooses Butler
3/29 Siddhartha Lama chooses Butler

Full Listings: Boys' Commits & Girls' Commits

Lotto Paddle Collection
Take a look at the Lotto Paddle Collection ...
3/31 Kotseva, Eigbedion, Santhosh and Lee Crowned Champions in 12s and 14s Divisions Thursday at FILA Easter Bowl; Frey Defeats Top Seed Hill in Girls 16s…
3/30 FILA Easter Bowl 12s and 14s Finals, 16s and 18s Quarterfinals Set for Thursday; Lam Makes Annual Easter Bowl Run, Hamilton Comes Back to Advance in…
3/29 Eigbedion Defeats Top Seed to Reach Boys 12s Semifinals; No. 1 and No. 2 B16s Seeds Ousted in Second Round at FILA Easter Bowl; Texas Men Claim No. 1…
3/28 Avram Ousts Top Seed Lian as 18s and 16s Begin FILA Easter Bowl Competition; Harmon Claims J200 Title in Dominican Republic; Okhtenburg Wins First ITF…
3/27 Top Seeds in FILA Easter Bowl 14s Absent From Monday's Round of 16; Lian and Glozman Top Seeds in 18s, Hill and Mosejczuk No. 1 in16s Divisions;…
Colette Lewis has covered topflight junior events as a freelance journalist for over a decade. Read her weekly column, follow her on Twitter, and and find more of her daily commentary at ZooTennis.

Page updated on Monday, March 13, 2023
Contact our web team with any corrections