Home Boys' Lists Girls' Lists Men's Teams Women's Teams News Photos Contributors Links Help Sign-UpOnline Store
Latest News | Categories | Authors | News Archives

News & Features

College Feature
NCAA Contemplates Permanent Home for D1 Championships

With the men's and women's College World Series in heavy rotation on ESPN this month, analysis of the keys to that success often lands on their longstanding permanent homes in Omaha, Nebraska and Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Although not popular tourist destinations, the two Midwest cities have drawn substantial crowds for the baseball and softball NCAA Division I championships, prompting many in collegiate tennis to contemplate a similar model for its May championships.

The Crowd in Georgia for the 2012 NCAA Championships
© Zoo Tennis

There is no urgency surrounding that decision right now, as the current cycle of host bids extends through 2026 and requests for bids beyond that date won't go out until late next year, but the current rotating campus model could be in jeopardy.

That model is itself a relatively new phenomenon, especially for the men, who played their team and individual championships in Athens, Georgia for 23 of the 27 years between 1977 and 2003. But when the tournament became a joint men's and women's event in 2006, Athens ceased being the default location, with Stanford, Tulsa, Texas A&M, Illinois, Baylor and Wake Forest alternating with Georgia as campus hosts in the past 16 years.

This Article Is Available Only to Recruiting Advantage members
Please log in to access premium TennisRecruiting.net content.
Register Now For Free!
  • Content Updated Daily
  • Complete Rank Lists
  • Exclusive Articles
  • Recruit Interviews
It's Quick, Easy, and Free!

Diadem Elevate V3 Tech Interview
The all new Diadem Elevate V3 is here and we have an exclusive Interview with Diadem Co-Founder, Evan Specht to talk about all things V3 ...
See More
9/21 Reese Parker chooses Bellarmine
9/21 Mia Sorrentino chooses Babson
9/20 Molly Evans chooses Georgetown
9/20 Tobias Luo chooses Brown
9/19 Mason Nguyen chooses Babson
9/19 Jenna Redmile chooses Cleveland State
9/19 Andrew Hayduke II chooses North Dakota
9/19 Cristina Avila chooses UMass Dartmouth
9/17 Sebastian Mendoza chooses Babson
9/15 Callum Markowitz chooses Vanderbilt

Full Listings: Boys' Commits & Girls' Commits


Page updated on Monday, March 13, 2023
Contact our web team with any corrections