Home Boys' Lists Girls' Lists Men's Teams Women's Teams News Photos Contributors Links Help Sign-UpOnline Store
Latest News | Categories | Authors | News Archives

News & Features

NCAA Championships
Barry University Men and Women Sweep NCAA Division II Titles

The Barry University men’s and women’s teams captured the NCAA Division II Championships on May 20-21 in Surprise, Arizona.

It marked the second time in school history both teams brought the championship trophy home to Miami Shores, Florida. That feat was also accomplished in 2019, the last time the championships were held because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Barry Women Captured Their Fourth Straight Title
© Barry Athletics

Each Barry squad was seeded second at the eight-team event at the Surprise Tennis & Racquet Complex. The Buccaneers women (15-0) shut out top-seeded University of Indianapolis 4-0 in the final, while the Barry men (13-0) defeated No. 1 Columbus State 4-1.

The Barry women’s team garnered its fourth title in a row and the sixth since the 2011 season. The Buccaneers tied Southern Illinois-Edwardsville (1986-1989) as the only teams to win four straight DII titles.

“I am so proud of the girls on my team,” said Barry women’s coach Avi Kigel, who has completed 13 year at the Barry helm. “It was a very tough and unusual year for us, having to adjust to a limited schedule. But the girls were committed from day one to keep themselves safe and train hard. We had great success in the past 10 years and the girls know that, when coming to Barry, the expectations are really high.”

This Article Is Available Only to Recruiting Advantage members
Please log in to access premium TennisRecruiting.net content.
Register Now For Free!
  • Content Updated Daily
  • Complete Rank Lists
  • Exclusive Articles
  • Recruit Interviews
It's Quick, Easy, and Free!

Michelle Esquivel x RIA Eyewear @ The Showcase
Michelle Esquivel competing at The the Showcase in Newport Beach, CA - presented by Pro Pickleball Association
9/18 Eli Wood chooses Bellarmine
9/17 Nikole Lisovyy chooses Quinnipiac
9/17 Isabella DeAgazio chooses Wellesley
9/16 Avery Hopkey chooses Lehigh
9/16 Amelia Galin chooses Colgate
9/16 Martin Mejia chooses Babson
9/16 Jack Hanna chooses Army
9/15 Pedro Liborio chooses Boise State
9/15 James Van Herzeele chooses Boise State
9/15 Santianna Chrysopoulo chooses Delaware

Full Listings: Boys' Commits & Girls' Commits


Page updated on Saturday, August 28, 2021
Contact our web team with any corrections