Home Boys' Lists Girls' Lists Men's Teams Women's Teams News Photos Contributors Links Help Sign-UpOnline Store
Team Directory | Conference Maps | News Wire | Class Rankings | Advanced Search  

Team Information

University of Georgia Men | Women

Division:NCAA - Div. I
Location:Athens, GA
Head Coach:Jeff Wallace
Assoc. Head Coach:Drake Bernstein
Institution Type:Public
Environment:Small city
Student Population:33,000+
Top Recruiting Classes: #1 in 2017, #4 in 2014, #21 in 2012, #13 in 2011, #1 in 2010, #2 in 2008, #18 in 2007, #13 in 2006

Conference Highlights
*SEC Titles: 6 (1983, 1989, 1990, 1994, 2000, 2002)

*SEC Tournament Titles: 3 (1983, 1994, 2001)
Post Season Highlights
*NCAA Appearances: 20 in a row starting in 1987
*NCAA Record: 48-18; Team Titles: 2 (1994, 2000)

*Singles Titles: 2; Doubles Titles: none
(Lisa Spain, 1984; Angela Lettiere, 1994)

*Individual Grand Slams: 8 (4 singles, 4 doubles)
*Team Grand Slam Titles: 5 (2 NCAA, 3 NWTIC)

*All-Americans: 21 with 73 honors
*Honda Award/Tennis Winners: 3 (1984, 1994, 1998)

*SEC Titles: 6 (1983, 1989, 1990, 1994, 2000, 2002)
*SEC Tournament Titles: 3 (1983, 1994, 2001)
Tournament Highlights
The 2000 tennis team captured the second NCAA national title for the program including the first one on the West Coast.
Georgia avenged an early season loss to Stanford. The Cardinal, riding a 48-match winning streak, was an overwhelming favorite to repeat as NCAA champions by everyone not wearing red and black.
The Bulldogs forced Stanford to doubles, splitting the singles as Aarthi Venkatesan, Marissa Catlin and Anne Nguyen won at number one, three and six in the lineup. Venkatesan outlasted Marissa Irvin, who was ranked 78th in the world, in the feature match. In doubles, the number two team of Venkatesan/Knox picked up a win and then at number one, the second-ranked duo of Catlin/Lori Grey clinched the national title 9-8 (3), winning a tiebreaker over the fourth-ranked team of Irvin/Teryn Ashley.

The 1994 team will always be remembered for winning the national championship at home, but that was merely a culmination of the achievements that year. Georgia posted a 27-2 record including a perfect 14-0 in the SEC.
Georgia claimed its first-ever team title in early March, winning the USTA/ITA National Indoors. In fact, Georgia won 21 of the 24 matches it played and never had to play doubles, which was a first for the indoor team champion.
With the Indoor team title, Georgia assumed the No. 1 ranking, marking another first for the program. At that time, the Bulldogs had every player in their lineup ranked among the top 100 in singles along with two of the nation’s top three ranked doubles teams.
The NCAA finals saw Georgia go up against its long-time nemesis, Stanford, a team that had eliminated them in six previous NCAAs and one they had never beaten. Georgia won 5-4 much to the delight of the 3,117 sun-drenched fans at Henry Feild Stadium.
Individual Achievements
1984: Lisa Spain
1994: Angela Lettiere
1998: Marissa Catlin

There have been as many as four grand slam tournaments played annually in college tennis. These are the National Clay Courts (September 1986-2000, doubles added in 1992), the Riviera All-American Championships (October 1983-current, doubles added in 1988), the Rolex National Indoors (Feb. or November 1984-current) and the NCAA Championships (May 1982-current). Georgia has won five singles and four doubles grand slam titles.

1983 Riviera/ITA All-American Championships: Lisa Spain
Final: Spain d. Heliane Steden (Southern California) 6-4, 6-3

1984 NCAA Championships: Lisa Spain
Final: Spain d. Linda Gates (Stanford) 7-5, 3-6, 6-3

1994 NCAA Championships: Angela Lettiere
Final: Lettiere d. Keri Phebus (UCLA) 7-6(4), 6-2

2002 ITA National Indoor Championships: Agata Cioroch
Final: Cioroch d. Jewel Peterson (USC) 6-4, 6-3

2003 ITA National Indoor Championships: Agata Cioroch
Final: Cioroch d. Anda Perianu (Oklahoma) 6-3,6-1

Grand Slam Finalists:
National Clay Courts: Caryn Moss-1989, Shannan McCarthy-1990;
Riviera All-American: Angela Lettiere-1993, Marissa Catlin-1997,
Aarthi Venkatesan-2000;
Rolex National Indoors: Shannan McCarthy-1991, Angela Lettiere-1994,
Marissa Catlin-1999;
NCAA Championships: Shannan McCarthy-1992.

1994 National Clay Courts: Tina Samara and Stacy Sheppard
Final: Samara/Sheppard d. Erica ONeill/Jana Strnadova (Syracuse) 6-3, 6-7(2), 6-3

1994 Rolex National Indoors: Michelle Anderson and Angela Lettiere
Final: Anderson/Lettiere d. Rebecca Jensen/Nora Koves (Kansas) 7-5, 6-1

1998 National Clay Courts: Vanessa Castellano and Marissa Catlin
Final: Castellano/Catlin d. Celeste Frey/Marianna Eberle (Ole Miss) 6-0, 6-2

1999 Rolex National Indoors: Vanessa Castellano and Marissa Catlin
Final: Castellano/Catlin d. Karen Goldstein/Vanessa Webb (Duke) 7-5, 6-3

Grand Slam Finalists: National Clay Courts: Samara/Sheppard-1993; Riviera All-American: McCarthy/Schefflin-1989, Samara/Sheppard-1994, Castellano/Catlin-1997 (walkover), 1998; Rolex National Indoors: Anderson/Chauzu-1996; NCAA Championships: Anderson/Catlin-1997, Castellano/Catlin-1999, Catlin/Grey-2000.

NCAA Individual Champions
1984 Singles: Lisa Spain
1994 Singles: Angela Lettiere

NCAA Finalists
1992 Shannan McCarthy (singles)
1997: Anderson/Catlin (doubles)
1999: Catlin/Castellano (doubles)
2000: Catlin/Grey (doubles)

The Drive To Be #1
The University of Georgia has had six doubles teams conclude the season nationally-ranked number one by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association. In 2005, Shadisha Robinson and Caroline Basu were the latest duo to join this elite group.

1994: Angela Lettiere and Michelle Anderson
1995: Stacy Sheppard and Tina Samara
1999: Marissa Catlin and Vanessa Castellano
2000: Marissa Catlin and Lori Grey
2003: Agata Cioroch and Lori Grey
2005: Shadisha Robinson and Caroline Basu
Coaching Achievements
Team Titles and Coaching Awards

* 1994 and 2000 NCAA Team Championships
* 1994, 1995 and 2002 USTA/ITA Indoor Team Titles
* Bulldogs have won seven grand slam titles
* Two HONDA Broderick Award winners for Tennis
* One College Tennis Player of the Year
* Three National Senior of the Year selections
* 21 Bulldog All-Americans honored 73 times
* 40 Bulldogs on the SEC Academic Honor Roll 61 times
* 33 Bulldogs selected to the All-SEC First Team 70 times

NCAA Coach-Of-The-Year
1991, 1994, 2000

REGIONAL Coach-Of-The-Year
1990, 1994, 2000

SEC Coach-Of-The-Year
1989, 1990, 1992, 1994

NCAA Team Titles: 2
1994, 2000

National Indoor Team Titles: 3
1994, 1995, 2002

SEC Titles: 5
1989, 1990, 1994, 2000, 2002

SEC Tournament Titles: 3
1989, 1994, 2001
10/23 Ansley Hardeman chooses Wofford
10/23 Colt Tegtmeier chooses Brandeis
10/23 Daniela Bellini chooses Bucknell
10/23 Priyan Desilva chooses Mary Washington
10/23 Alexandra Garofoli chooses Lenoir-Rhyne
10/23 Jake Beasley chooses South Carolina
10/22 Sydney Byrnes chooses Bates
10/22 Joshua Xu chooses Chicago
10/22 Matthew Jones chooses Villanova
10/22 Isabella Schoolcraft chooses Valparaiso

Full Listings: Boys' Commits & Girls' Commits

Campus Showdowns are one-day, short-format tournaments open to juniors, college players, professionals, and adults. These events give junior players a chance to compete against college competition on a college campus.
Click here for a complete Showdown Schedule

Page updated on Monday, October 23, 2017 at 7:56:31 PM
Contact our web team with any corrections